waiting for that macramé bird of prey

February 27, 2009

It’s been a funny two weeks for me, which haven’t really let me devote much time to my final major project. This means I’m feeling a bit off kilter and out of practice when it comes to my work. However, I know there’s a few things I need to start getting a move on with, so I’m going to try harder with those.

Firstly, I’ve just been contacted by a friend of a friend who organises gigs for DrownedinSound in Manchester and Sheffield to do a poster for a roller disco with the Black Lips. According to the organiser “I’m thinking something that makes a big deal of the fact it’s at a roller disco – people will be skating around, drunk, while Black Lips are vomiting all over the place, essentially… it’ll be quite a night!”

…I love my job sometimes.

Secondly – mailouts. I’ve been trying to do these for ages, looking at other examples (as found in earlier posts on this blog) and I still don’t feel like I really know where I want to go with this. The main problem is that I’d like to make it illustrative, but I also don’t want my design to immediately pigeonhole me as only able to work in one style the same way that David and Sophie warned me my jaffajam design might if I used it as my portfolio site. So then I think maybe I should avoid illustrating it specifically and just make it a nice brightly coloured but abstract design, but even then I’m indecisive as to how it should look!

Thirdly – the Computer Arts Graduate Showcase. I really want to enter this but as I can pretty much submit anything, I don’t have a clue what I want to send them. I’m thinking whatever I do submit could also make up part of my exhibition, so I really want it to be quite visually striking and interesting, but I need to start thinking about what I want to illustrate. I’d really like to mix my interest in creative writing and my illustration skills again, but I’m beginning to think they come from different bits of me; my illustration is fun monsters and happy things while my writing is relationships, overly complicated vocabulary and generally Srs Bsns. So maybe not. I think I need to spend a bit of time in the library getting some inspiration together, and also looking back over things I’ve posted in here, especially exhibition work.

Leave a Reply

