frightened cornered gemini tactics

January 20, 2009

I think the main issue with my promotional material (including CV and portfolio) is that I need to show that I’m flexible within my range of skills. It would be very tempting to plaster this all with my Jaffajam characters, but I run the risk of doing the same thing I almost did to laura-siragher.com on my last project – presenting myself as one-dimensional. Obviously the portfolio will show a range of my work, but I need to hold any potential client/employer’s attention long enough beforehand to have them actually read the thing.

I’m liking the idea of having something A4ish that packs relatively flat for ease of posting but opens out into something fun like the Of Montreal cd artwork (though not as complicated, maybe just like two sides that fold out from the middle). Then I could include a pocket at one side to slip in the CV and cover letter and make the rest look rather lovely. I’m just not sure quite how the loveliness will look yet. I suppose if I design the pack itself first I can try out a few ideas for what might go on it later…

Leave a Reply

