outside the trains don’t run on time

November 19, 2008

Thinking about creating my t-shirts, rather than printing them, by using applique – basically a form of fabric collage, layering of fabric on top of each other into the design you want. My knowledgeable flatmate reckons it’s doable, using either Bondaweb (some special… stuff that sticks fabric together) or just plain stitching the thing. Bondaweb is faster but we’re not sure how wash-resistant it is; stitching is more reliable but would probably have to be done by hand in order to stop the fabric bunching up as you stitch it, so would take forever and a day to do, leaving me with a significantly reduced will to live (especially if I get lots of orders).

I have a Christmas present I need to create however, so I might try the applique approach for that one at least, and see how it goes. I’m not the best at sewing in the world but I’ve managed to create a small cuddly Thom Yorke in the past and didn’t bugger that up, so I should be alright.

The only thing that’s worrying me about considering this is the fact I’m partially doing it because I’m too chicken to sort out the screenprinting…

In other news, that isn’t really related to anything, Stephen Fry has Twitter. Is there anything that man can’t do? ❤

Leave a Reply

